World Tennis Challenge - Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive, Adelaide

8 – 10 January 2018

Hopman Cup

Memorial Drive, Adelaide 8 – 10 January 2018


World Tennis Challenge 2017

WTC 2017 field:

  • Mark Philippoussis (AUS)
  • Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR)
  • John Peers (AUS)
  • Henri Kontinen (FIN)
  • Sam Querrey (USA)
  • Fabrice Santoro (FRA)
  • Bob Bryan (USA)
  • Mike Bryan (USA)
  • Tomas Berdych (CZE)
  • Goran Ivanisevic (CRO)
  • Daniel Nestor (CAN)
  • Edouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)


For Schedule of Play and Teams click here.


World Tennis Challenge 2016

The Teams

Team Philippoussis Team Ivanisevic Team Wilander
Mark Philippoussis Goran Ivanisevic Mats Wilander
Lleyton Hewitt Marin Cilic Fernando Verdasco
Arantxa Sanchez Vicario Iva Majoli Marion Bartoli

Player Stats

Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)
The youngest male ever to be ranked world No.1, at the age of 20. Winner of three Grand Slam titles including 2001 US Open, 2002 Wimbledon and 2000 US Open Men’s Doubles. He also won back-to-back Tennis Masters Cup titles in 2001 and 2002 and was a member of Australian’s winning 1999 and 2003 Davis Cup team. He will play his 20th Australian Open in 2016.

Marin Cilic (CRO)
After a shoulder injury saw his 2015 WTC appearance and Australian Open hopes, the 2014 US Open winner and 2015 US Open semi-finalist will visit Adelaide in January.

Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
After picking up a racquet at just four years of age, Fernando Verdasco reached a career-high of world No.7 in 2009 and has won 13 ATP titles. He was a member of Spain’s winning Davis Cup team in 2008, 2009 and 2011, winning the deciding match for his team in the first two years. Verdasco is currently ranked No.41.


Marion Bartoli (FRA)
The former world No.7, 2013 Wimbledon champion and 2011 French open runner-up who was noted for her two-handed forehand and backhand. Her Wimbledon victory made her only the sixth player in the Open era to win the Championships without dropping a single set.

Goran Ivanisevic (CRO)
Current coach of Marin Cilic, former world No.2 Goran Ivanisevic is a legend of the game. After his WTC debut in 2015, the 2001 Wimbledon champion – the only person to ever win off a wildcard entry – will return for 2016 much to the delight of those who witnessed his great personality and on-court talent last year.

Iva Majoli (CRO)
After turning professional in 1991 at the age of 14, Iva Majoli stunned a 16-year-old Martina Hingis at the 1997 French Open to take the Championship in straight sets. Majoli had a career-high ranking of world No.4 in 1996 at age 18.

Mark Philippoussis (AUS)
‘Scud’ returns for his second WTC appearance, having also graced the Memorial Drive courts in the event’s debut year in 2009. The former world No.8, 1998 US Open and 2003 Wimbledon finalist is revered by the Australian public for his wins in the deciding rubbers that handed Australia Davis Cup victories in 1999 and 2003.

Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario (ESP)
The former world No.1 is one of the greatest female players of all time. Winner of 14 Grand Slam titles – comprising four singles, six doubles and four mixed doubles titles – she also holds the record for the most matches won in Fed Cup competition and is the only tennis player to have competed in five Olympics.

Mats Wilander (SWE)
Wilander is always a crowd favourite at the WTC. The former world No.1 holds an impressive eight Grand Slam titles; three French, one US and three Australian and a Wimbledon doubles title.