News & Media

Star-studded field revealed for World Tennis Challenge

22 November 2017, by World Tennis Challenge

A star-studded field including two former world No.1 singles players, four former top 10 ranked singles players and four former world No.1 doubles players have been confirmed for the 10th edition of the World Tennis Challenge, taking place at Memorial Drive from 8 to 10 January 2018.

The final field set to join Andre Agassi, Bob and Mike Bryan, along with John Peers and Henri Kontinen, was announced at the official media launch today.

Completing Team USA alongside Andre Agassi and the Bryan Brothers will be young gun and current world No.78 Frances Tiafoe.

“I am thrilled to be visiting the World Tennis Challenge for the first time.” Tiafoe said.

“I am honoured to be joining Team USA alongside some of the greats of the sport, in Andre Agassi and the Bryan Brothers.

“I hope to have time to explore the city of Adelaide too and to meet all the tennis fans,” Tiafoe added.

Headlining Team International will be the entertaining Frenchman, two-time Grand Slam semifinalist and former world No.6 Gael Monfils.

“I am excited to return to the World Tennis Challenge for the second time.” Monfils said.

“I played alongside Fabrice Santoro and Henri Leconte in 2009 so it will be exciting to play alongside Mats Wilander, Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares in 2018.”

“I have heard about the energy and enthusiasm from the Adelaide crowd and I am looking forward to being a part of it,” Monfils added.

Former world No.1, Mats Wilander (SWE) will be joining Monfils in Team International.

“I always enjoy coming to Adelaide and I am looking forward to visiting again in 2018.” Wilander said.

“It will be exciting to refuel the old rivalry between Agassi. We haven’t played since a Davis Cup match in 1995 where he beat me in straight sets so I look forward to exacting my revenge for Team International alongside, Gael, Jamie and Bruno.”

The final addition to Team International will be the doubles pairing of Jamie Murray (GBR) and Bruno Soares (BRA).

“Bruno and I are looking forward to being a part of the World Tennis Challenge in 2018,” Murray said.

“We are thrilled to be visiting Adelaide and we are ready for some tough matches against Peers and Kontinen and the Bryan Brothers.”

Joining Kokkinakis, John Peers and Henri Kontinen in Team Australia will be Mark Philippoussis, making his fourth appearance at the World Tennis Challenge.

“I always feel so welcome in Adelaide so I am looking forward to returning again.” Philippoussis said.

“I was part of the winning team in 2017 and I’m excited to join Thanasi, John and Henri for 2018.”

General Manager World Tennis Challenge, David Hearne, today announced the full line up for the three day event.

“We are thrilled to announce the full line up for the 2018 World Tennis Challenge,” Hearne said.

“We are also thrilled to welcome young gun, Frances Tiafoe, along with the ever-entertaining Gael Monfils, both of whom are sure to be crowd favourites when they hit the court here in Adelaide.

“With such an incredible field, we’re encouraging fans to get in early so they don’t miss out on this amazing opportunity to see the players take to the court at Memorial Drive but also make appearances at the World Tennis Challenge Legends Lunch.

“With tickets starting from just $11 for adults and $6 for kids, there is really no better place to watch world-class tennis this January.”


The full World Tennis Challenge 2018 field consists of:


Team USA

Andre Agassi (USA)

Frances Tiafoe (USA)

Bob Bryan (USA)

Mike Bryan (USA)


Team Australia

Thanasi Kokkinakis (AUS)

Mark Philippoussis (AUS)

John Peers (AUS)

Henri Kontinen (FIN)


Team International

Gael Monfils (FRA)

Mats Wilander (SWE)

Jamie Murray (GBR)

Bruno Soares (BRA)


The World Tennis Challenge 2018 schedule will consist of:




Monday 8 January, 6.30 pm
Team Australia v

Team International

Peers/Kontinen v Murray/Soares

Kokkinakis v Monfils

Philippoussis v Wilander

Tuesday 9 January, 6.30 pm
Team USA v

Team International

Bryan/Bryan v Murray/Soares

Tiafoe v Monfils

Agassi v Wilander

Wednesday 10 January, 6.30 pm
Team Australia v

Team USA

Bryan/Bryan v Peers/Kontinen

Kokkinakis v Tiafoe

Philippoussis v Agassi